2019 Lok Sabha election: AAP announces candidates for 6 seats in Delhi, no alliance with Congress 

Team Suno Neta Saturday 2nd of March 2019 06:11 PM
(17) (5)

Arvind Kejriwal.

New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party, on Saturday, announced names of the candidates for six of the seven Delhi seats for the upcoming Lok Sabha election. It also blamed the Congress for the breakdown of coalition talks between the two parties.

AAP Delhi convener Gopal Rai claimed the Congress president, Rahul Gandhi, had conveyed that due to the reluctance of the Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee leaders, a coalition wouldn’t take shape in Delhi.

He said, “He (Rahul) said so in front of all the opposition leaders at Sharad Pawar’s residence.”

Although Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal had been trying to convince the Congress for an alliance to ensure that anti-BJP votes do not get split, thereby benefitting the ruling party at the Centre.

Rai said, “Moreover, DPCC chief Sheila Dikshit made it clear on Friday that she was not in favour of any alliance. Time was running out and we had to announce names.”

The AAP hasn’t announced any name for the west Delhi seat so far. It said it will discuss further before announcing the candidate for the seat.

The candidates whose names have been announced are: Atishi (East), Guggan Singh (North West), Raghav Chadha (South), Dilip Pandey (North East), Pankaj Gupta (Chandni Chowk), and Brijesh Goyal (New Delhi).




Leave Your Response