2019 Lok Sabha election results: In a first, BJP-led NDA sweeps Bihar, RJD draws a blank 

Arunima Bajaj  Friday 24th of May 2019 10:31 AM
(29) (15)

Lalu Prasad (L) and Tejashwi Yadav.

New Delhi: The Rashtriya Janata Dal, led by Lalu Prasad’s son Tejashwi Yadav and the main party in the Bihar mahagathbandhan (grand alliance), could not manage to win even a single seat in 2019 Lok Sabha election out of the 20 seats it contested. It dived from 4 in 2014 to nil in 2019.

Meanwhile, the Congress, which is also a part of the mahagathbandan, managed to win only one seat in the state. The grand old party had fielded contestants on nine seats out of total 40 seats in Bihar.

Rashtriya Lok Samta Party and the Hindustani Awam Morcha, which contested on five and three seats respectively, also failed to open their account.

The Bharatiya Janata Party-Janata Dal (United)-Lok Janshakti Party’s NDA alliance in Bihar swept the state with 39 seats, with BJP winning 17 seats, while Nistish Kumar’s JD(U) and Ram Vilas Paswan’s LJP winning 16 and six seats respectively.

The results are seen as a big surprise because many voters in the state, especially the members of the yadav community, were angry at Nitish Kumar’s “betrayal” when he broke alliance with the mahagathbandhan and joined the BJP-led NDA. Kumar joined hands with Lalu Prasad and the Congress and was elected on an anti-BJP mandate.




Leave Your Response