Bhupesh Baghel takes oath as Chhattisgarh chief minister 

Team Suno Neta Monday 17th of December 2018 05:58 PM
(0) (0)

Bhupesh Baghel.

Bhopal: President of Chhattisgarh Pradesh Congress Committee Bhupesh Baghel has been sworn in as third chief minister of Chhattisgarh, on Monday. The oath-taking ceremony that was attended by top political leaders held at at Balbeer Singh Juneja Indoor Stadium in Raipur’s Budhatalab.

Governor of Chhattisgarh Anandiben Patel has administrated the oath of office and secrecy of Baghel. Along with Baghel, TS Singhdeo and Tamradwaj Sahu were also administered the oath of office and secrecy as ministers.

The Congress president, Rahul Gandhi, and former Prime Minster Manmohan Singh were present at the swearing-in ceremony. Both leaders have also attended the oath ceremonies of chief ministers of Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh.

Other prominent leaders including AICC general secretary Mallikarjun Kharge, NCP chief Sharad Pawar, National Conference president Farooq Abdullah, Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, his deputy Sachin Pilot were present at the ceremony. Congress leaders Anand Sharma, Raj Babbar, Mohsina Kidwai, Pramod Tiwari, Puducherry Chief Minister Narayan Swami, MPs Jyotiraditya Scindia, Punjab minister Navjot Singh Sidhu, Loktantrik Janata Dal leader Sharad Yadav, Motilal Vora, Babulal Marandi, PK Kunhalikutty, Sanjay Singh, industrialist and Congress leader Naveen Jindal too have witnessed the swearing in of the new chief minister.

The outgoing chief minister Raman Singh was also present at the ceremony. He was seen sharing dais with other national leaders.

Bhupesh Baghela, 57, is leading the state unit of the Congress since October, 2014. He has served as minister of transport in Digvijay Singh’s cabinet when Singh was the chief minister of undivided Madhya Pradesh. He became first minister for revenue, public health engineering and relief work in the state.

The Congress has won the assembly election with huge majority while defeating BJP. The Congress has won 68 seats in the 90-member assembly of Chhattisgarh.




Leave Your Response