CPM-led Left Front releases list of 25 candidates for Lok Sabha election, leaves 17 seats for Congress in West Bengal 

Team Suno Neta Saturday 16th of March 2019 11:21 AM
(13) (2)

Biman Bose.

New Delhi: The Communist Party of India (Marxist)-led Left Front, on Friday, announced its first list of 25 candidates in West Bengal for the upcoming Lok Sabha election, including four women and five Muslim candidates. It has left 17 seats for the Congress to contest from in the state.

The Bengal Congress leadership, keen on contesting Purulia and Barasat seats, said everyone should be flexible in an adjustment.

The Left Front has, for the first time, opted for a seat-sharing deal with the Congress for the Lok Sabha election. Earlier, it had entered into a seat-sharing deal with the party for the state assembly polls, which had failed to evoke mass support.

The West Bengal Left Front chairman, Biman Bose, in a news release, said, “For the remaining 17 seats, some will be contested by the Congress and some by the Left Front. In some seats, there might be candidates who would be jointly supported by the Congress and the Left Front.”

The state Congress chief, Somen Mitra, while responding to the development, said they will discuss the matter within the party to announce their list very soon.

The development indicates an agreement on seat-sharing to stop the march of the ruling All India Trinamool Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party in Bengal.




Leave Your Response