Election dates for 5 state assemblies announced; results on December 11 

Team Suno Neta Saturday 6th of October 2018 03:54 PM
(147) (65)

Om Prakash Rawat.

New Delhi: The Election Commission of India has announced the dates for elections for five state assemblies, on Saturday. Announcing this in New Delhi, the chief election commissioner, Om Prakash Rawat, said Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Rajasthan, and Telangana will have a single-phase election while Chhattisgarh will have a two-phase election.

Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram will go to the polls on November 28 while Rajasthan and Telangana will vote on December 7. Chhattisgarh will vote on November 12 for 18 constituencies in the first phase and in the second phase, it will vote for 72 constituencies on November 20.

The results for all the five state elections will be declared on December 11.

Number of seats in the five state assemblies are as follows:

  • Chhattisgarh has 91 assembly seats for which 90 representatives are elected directly and one is nominated.
  • Madhya Pradesh has 231 assembly seats for which 230 representatives are elected directly and one is nominated.
  • Mizoram has 40 assembly seats.
  • Rajasthan has 200 assembly seats.
  • Telangana has 120 assembly seats for which 119 representatives are elected directly and one is nominated.

Parties in power in the states and their chief ministers:



Chief Minister


Bharatiya Janata Party

Raman Singh

Madhya Pradesh

Bharatiya Janata Party

Shivraj Singh Chouhan


Indian National Congress

Lal Thanhawla


Bharatiya Janata Party

Vasundhara Raje


Telangana Rashtra Samithi

K Chandrashekar Rao

With this announcement on Saturday, the model code of conduct has come into effect in all the five states.    




Leave Your Response