Narendra Modi forms two new Cabinet committees for economic growth and employment 

Arunima Bajaj  Wednesday 5th of June 2019 06:08 PM
(54) (16)

Narendra Modi.

New Delhi: With rising unemployment and haunting economic growth, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, on Wednesday, constituted two new Cabinet committees under his chairmanship to spur the country’s economic growth and investment and employment.

The first one is the Cabinet Committee on Investment and Growth. It has five members, including home minister Amit Shah, finance minister Nirmala Sitharaman, road transport and highways and MSME minister Nitin Gadkari and railway minister Piyush Goyal.

The other is Cabinet Committee on Employment and Skill Development. It has 10 members – Shah, Sitharaman, Goyal, minister of agriculture and farmers welfare, rural development and panchayat raj Narendra Singh Tomar, human resource development minister Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’, petroleum and natural gas minister Dharmendra Pradhan, skill development and entrepreneurship minister Mahendra Nath Pandey and ministers of state Santosh Kumar Gangwar (labour) and Hardeep Singh Puri (housing and urban affairs).

According to NSSO figures, economy has become a major cause of concern for the new government with GDP dropping to 5.8 per cent in the last quarter of the 2018-19, whereas the overall GDP for last financial year has been estimated at 6.8 per cent against a target of 7.2 per cent.

The government released the Periodic Labour Force Survey – Annual Report (July 2017–July 2018) which puts the current unemployment rate at 6.1 per cent – the highest in 45 years.




Leave Your Response