Narendra Modi, other lawmakers take oath as MPs on first day of 17th Lok Sabha  

Arunima Bajaj  Monday 17th of June 2019 11:48 AM
(32) (5)

Narendra Modi. 

New Delhi: The first session of the 17th Lok Sabha commenced, on Monday, with leader of the House, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and other lawmakers, including Lok Sabha debutant and home minister Amit Shah and defence minister Rajnath Singh, taking oath as MPs.

As the House met, the members stood in silence for a few minutes as per convention after the assembling of the new Lok Sabha. Member from the ruling NDA also greeted the PM with slogans such as “Modi! Modi!” and “Bharat Mata ki Jai!”

The panel of presiding officers, such as K Suresh, Brijbhushan Sharan Singh and B Mehtab, took oath as members of the House after the prime minister.

The first three days of the Lower House have been earmarked for oath-taking which will be administered by the pro tem speaker, Virendra Kumar.

While the prime minister and most of Union ministers took oath in Hindi, Union ministers Harsh Vardhan, Sripad Naik, Ashwini Choubey and Pratap Chandra Sarangi took oath in Sanskrit and DV Sadananda Gowda, Prahlad Joshi took oath in Kannada, Harsimrat Kaur Badal took oath in Punjabi.

This Lok Sabha session will make history for having the highest-ever number of female MPs – 78.

Modi began the new session with “fresh zeal and new thinking”.

Video of Prime Minister Narendra Modi taking oath as MP in Lok Sabha:




Leave Your Response