Kejriwal’s AAP sweeps Delhi poll, wins 62 out of 70 seats

The Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP almost made a repeat performance of its 2015 victory in the Delhi assembly election. The AAP won 62 out of 70 seats, five less than its tally of 67 in 2015. The BJP won eight seats – an increase of five seats from its 2015 tally of 3. And just like in 2015, the Congress d Read More
0 0 0

Polling ends in Delhi, turnout around 60%, exit polls predict AAP win

The polling for electing Delhi’s new assembly concluded without any major untoward incident. Around 60 per cent of Delhi’s 1.47 crore eligible voters exercised their franchise. However, the Election Commission is yet to release the final official figure of the turnout. Read More
0 0 0

Delhi assembly election: AAP, BJP, Congress release candidates’ list

As the polling date for the Delhi assembly election of February 8 coming closer, all the three major parties in fray – the Aam Aadmi Party, the Bharatiya Janata Party, and the Congress has released the names of their candidates. Here is the full list of the candidates from the three parties: Read More
0 0 0

MODI! MODI! MODI! BJP headed towards massive victory

Stabilized trends at around 4pm indicate that Narendra Modi’s BJP is leading in as many as 301 seats, which is 19 more than it won in the 2014 Lok Sabha election. Along with the BJP, the NDA is expected to touch or even cross 350 seats in the 543-member House. Read More
8 109 41

Kejriwal says Muslims voted for Congress at last minute in Delhi

The AAP seems to have conceded that he has suffered losses in Delhi in the Lok Sabha election. Delhi chief minister and Aam Aadmi Party chief Arvind Kejriwal said Delhi’s Muslim vote “shifted” to the Congress at the last minute before the polling started. Read More
2 13 4

Oppn backs Mamata over EC’s Bengal decision, Didi says thanks

All the opposition leaders have expressed solidarity with Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee after the Election Commission ordered to cut short campaigning in the state by a day in the wake of clashes between TMC and BJP workers. Read More
2 12 9

SC rejects opposition plea to review order on VVPAT count

The opposition parties had moved to the court after reports of defective EVMs emerged after the first phase of the Lok Sabha election. In some cases, it was reported, voters would cast their vote for a party but the EVM would record their vote for another party. Read More
3 16 8

Man slaps Kejriwal, AAP denies attacker linked to party

Delhi chief minister and Aam Aadmi Party chief Arvind Kejriwal was slapped by a man named Suresh Chauhan during his roadshow in Moti Nagar area while canvassing for his party for the Lok Sabha election. Read More
0 12 4

BJP releases Lok Sabha candidates’ list for 7 Delhi seats

The Bhartiya Janata Party has released the names of its seven candidates for the seven Lok Sabha seats from Delhi. Punjabi singer Hans Raj Hans is among the names, who replaces sitting BJP MP Udit Raj from Delhi Northwest. Delhi will go to the poll on May 12. Read More
0 22 5

Congress declares Delhi LS picks, Dikshit to contest against Tiwari

The Congress released the names of its candidates for six out of seven Delhi constituencies for the Lok Sabha election. Three-time chief minister Sheila Dikshit will contest from Delhi Northeast, where she faces the BJP’s Manoj Tiwari. Read More
1 22 6