Haryana: BJP fails to get majority; JJP, independents hold key

The Bharatiya Janata Party in Haryana failed to get a majority of its own after the counting of votes for the assembly election almost ended, on Thursday evening. The party managed to secure only 40 seats in the 90-member Haryana legislative assembly. Read More
0 0 0

Arun Jaitley, former finance minister, dies at 66

Arun Jaitley, Bharatiya Janata Party stalwart and former Union finance minister, died on Saturday at New Delhi’s All India Institute of Medical Sciences. He was 66. Read More
0 66 33

Rajya Sabha passes UAPA Bill, opposition expresses concern

The Rajya Sabha passed the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Amendment Bill, 2019 with 147 votes in favour and 42 against it while the opposition called it to be sent to a selection committee. Read More
0 29 17

Unnao ‘accident’: Eyewitnesses say truck hit car from wrong side

The accident left two of girl’s aunts dead and the rape survivor critically injured. The girl’s lawyer, who was also in the car, has been admitted in a Lucknow hospital with serious injuries. A BJP MLA is accused of raping the girl, who is a minor. Read More
0 22 10

In Karnataka, Yediyurappa ends Tipu Jayanti celebrations

The new BS Yediyurappa-led Bharatiya Janata Party government, in Karnataka cancelled the celebration of the annual birth anniversary of the 18th-century Mysuru ruler Tipu Sultan. Read More
0 38 7

Rajya Sabha passes Triple Talaq Bill with just 99 votes

The Triple Talaq Bill, which was passed three times by the Lok Sabha over the last 19 months, received the approval of the Rajya Sabha, amid walkouts by the Bharatiya Janata Party allies JD(U) and AIADMK. Read More
0 28 9

Rape-accused BJP MLA booked after survivor hurt in truck-car collision

An FIR has been filed against Kuldeep Sengar, the Bharatiya Janata Party member of UP legislative assembly, for attempting murder after a speeding truck collided with a car carrying two women and a rape survivor, who was allegedly raped by Sengar in 2017. Read More
0 38 20

Yediyurappa wins Karnataka trust vote, speaker Ramesh Kumar quits

The new chief minister of Karnataka, BS Yediyurappa won the trust vote in the Karnataka assembly. The BJP leader was sworn in as the chief minister three days after the Congress-Janata Dal (Secular) coalition collapsed after losing floor test. Read More
0 17 6

BS Yediyurappa sworn in as CM of Karnataka for 4th time

Karnataka BJP president BS Yediyurappa was sworn in as chief minister of the state for the fourth time, three days after the Congress-JD(S) coalition government collapsed after losing floor test. Read More
0 32 11

Tripal Talaq Bill unlikely to pass in the current session

The Triple Talaq Bill, which was introduced in the Lok Sabha in the ongoing monsoon session amid opposition from parties, may not pass through the Rajya Sabha. And the government seems to have understood the difficulty behind passing the bill into law. Read More
0 34 19