Karnataka crisis: Congress, JD(S) leaders protest against BJP

After 10 rebel MLAs personally submitted their fresh resignations to assembly speaker KR Ramesh Kumar in Bengaluru, he ruled out any immediate decision on the matter despite a Supreme Court order. Read More
0 15 4

Karnataka: Cong, JD(S) ministers quit in last effort to save govt

In a last-ditch effort to save the crumbling government, 21 Congress ministers and nine JDS ministers resigned from the state cabinet to placate the 14 rebel MLAs who withdrew their support to the Congress-JD(S) coalition government. Read More
0 44 13

UP govt to issue caste certificates to 17 OBCs, opposition slams move

The Yogi Adityanath-led BJP government of Uttar Pradesh has decided to issue caste certificates to members of 17 other backward classes. This decision is seen as a political ploy for the 2022 assembly election. Read More
0 28 12

In fresh blow to Karnataka govt, 2 Congress MLAs resign

Two Congress MLAs – Vijaynagar Congress MLA Anand Singh and Gokak Congress MLA Ramesh Jarkiholi – resigned from the Karnataka assembly dealing a fresh blow to the already tottering JD(S)-Congress coalition government. Read More
0 43 12

Govt tables Triple Talaq Bill in Lok Sabha, many parties oppose

Union law minister Ravi Shankar Prasad introduced a new bill to make the practice of triple talaq or instant divorce, practiced in the Muslim community, illegal, in the Lok Sabha saying rights of Muslim women will be protected. Read More
0 23 12

In a blow to Chandrababu, 4 out of 6 TDP Rajya Sabha MPs join BJP

Four of the six Rajya Sabha members from Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party joined the BJP, on Thursday. The TDP MPs who joined the BJP are CM Ramesh, YS Chowdary, Garikapati Mohan Rao, and TG Venkatesh. Read More
0 19 7

In West Bengal’s Bhatpara, clashes leave two dead, three injured

Clashes broke out between two unidentified groups, in West Bengal’s violence-hit Bhatpara, two people were killed and three others were injured in the clashes. Read More
0 23 5

NDA nominates BJP MP Om Birla for Lok Sabha speaker’s post

The BJP-led NDA nominated Om Birla, two-time BJP MP from Rajasthan, for the speaker’s post in Lok Sabha.Birla has been a three-time MLA in the Rajasthan assembly and represents the Kota-Boondi constituency in the Lok Sabha. Read More
2 29 7

Modi, other MPs take oath on first day of 17th Lok Sabha

The first session of the 17th Lok Sabha commenced on Monday with leader of the House, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and other lawmakers, including Lok Sabha debutant and home minister Amit Shah and defence minister Rajnath Singh, taking oath as MPs. Read More
2 32 5

BJP-TMC tension intensifies in Kolkata, cops teargas protesters

Police used water cannons and teargas to disperse BJP workers, who were marching towards Lalbazar in Kolkata to protest against the Trinamool Congress government. Read More
4 36 7