MODI! MODI! MODI! BJP headed towards massive victory

Stabilized trends at around 4pm indicate that Narendra Modi’s BJP is leading in as many as 301 seats, which is 19 more than it won in the 2014 Lok Sabha election. Along with the BJP, the NDA is expected to touch or even cross 350 seats in the 543-member House. Read More
8 109 41

Opposition tries to reach out to TRS, YSRCP to form government

Although, YSRCP and TRS have been in touch with opposition parties since the exit-poll results, the BJP has also been banking on the two parties to boost the NDA numbers if the mandate doesn’t turn out to be what the exit polls predicted. Read More
1 17 6

Twenty-two opposition leaders meet EC to track EVMs

Two days before counting of votes begins, representatives of 22 opposition parties met the Election Commission officials to make a host of demands including “tracking” of electronic voting machines and extensive use of voter-verified paper audit trails. Read More
3 51 34

Doordarshan ‘censors’ Binoy Viswam’s speech, CPI to move EC

Communist Party of India national secretary and Rajya Sabha member Binoy Viswam accused the public broadcaster Doordarshan of “censoring” references he made to the RSS, Adolf Hitler and Benito Mussolini in his scheduled speech. Read More
1 21 12

Rahul Gandhi to contest from Wayanad, leaves CPM angry

In addition to Uttar Pradesh’s Amethi, the Congress, on Sunday, announced the party president, Rahul Gandhi, will also contest from Wayanad Lok Sabha constituency, in Kerala. The decision infuriated the Left. Read More
1 18 13

‘Donate ₹1’: Kanhaiya launches crowdfunding campaign for poll

Kanhaiya Kumar, the Communist Party of India Lok Sabha candidate from Bihar’s Begusarai constituency, has launched a crowdfunding campaign and asked people to donate ₹1 for his election-campaign fund. Read More
4 29 22

Bihar mahagathban reaches deal, RJD to contest 19 seats, Congress 9

Rashtriya Janata Dal and Congress announced its seat sharing pact for the 40 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar. RJD will fight for 19 seats while the Congress will contest nine seats. Read More
2 11 1

Left releases list of 38 Bengal picks, waiting for Cong response

The Left Front, on Tuesday, announced its list of candidates for 38 seats in West Bengal, leaving the four seats – Berhampore, Jangipur, Malda Uttar and Malda Dakshin, which were won by Congress in 2014, once again keeping the door open for seat sharing with the party. Read More
2 18 10

In Bihar, BJP clubs LS seat-sharing deal with JD(U) and LJP

The Bharatiya Janata Party along with Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United) and Ram Vilas Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party – the other two partners in the Bihar National Democratic Alliance – named the Lok Sabha constituencies in the state from which they will contest. Read More
0 11 6

Bengal: Left releases 25 LS picks, leaves 17 seats for Cong

The Left Front has, for the first time, opted for a seat-sharing deal with the Congress for the Lok Sabha election. Earlier, it had entered into a seat-sharing deal with the party for the state assembly polls, which had failed to evoke mass support. Read More
0 13 2