Maharashtra: Fadnavis, Ajit Pawar resign, Uddhav to be new CM

The Maharashtra political fiasco, which started with the Shiv Sena walking out of the alliance with the BJP over the post of the CM, ended with Devendra Fadnavis resigning as the CM. This now clears the way for Uddhav Thackeray’s Shiv Sena, Sharad Pawar’s NCP and the Congress to form government. Read More
0 0 0

Guv recommends president’s rule as Maharashtra imbroglio drags

With the NCP-Congress alliance not having the numbers and the Shiv Sena unlikely to support an NCP government without getting the CM’s post, the governor recommended president’s rule in the state. Meanwhile, the Shiv Sena has moved the Supreme Court against the governor’s decision. Read More
0 0 0

Maharashtra: BJP-Shiv Sena alliance gets majority, NCP gains

The Bharatiya Janata Party and Shiv Sena alliance in Maharashtra won a comfortable majority as the counting of the votes for the assembly election came to an end, on Thursday night. In the 288-member assembly, the BJP won 105 seats out of the 152 it contested, while the Shiv Sena won 56 out of the 1 Read More
0 0 0

Haryana: BJP fails to get majority; JJP, independents hold key

The Bharatiya Janata Party in Haryana failed to get a majority of its own after the counting of votes for the assembly election almost ended, on Thursday evening. The party managed to secure only 40 seats in the 90-member Haryana legislative assembly. Read More
0 0 0

Rajya Sabha passes UAPA Bill, opposition expresses concern

The Rajya Sabha passed the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Amendment Bill, 2019 with 147 votes in favour and 42 against it while the opposition called it to be sent to a selection committee. Read More
0 29 17

Rajya Sabha passes Triple Talaq Bill with just 99 votes

The Triple Talaq Bill, which was passed three times by the Lok Sabha over the last 19 months, received the approval of the Rajya Sabha, amid walkouts by the Bharatiya Janata Party allies JD(U) and AIADMK. Read More
0 28 9

Yediyurappa wins Karnataka trust vote, speaker Ramesh Kumar quits

The new chief minister of Karnataka, BS Yediyurappa won the trust vote in the Karnataka assembly. The BJP leader was sworn in as the chief minister three days after the Congress-Janata Dal (Secular) coalition collapsed after losing floor test. Read More
0 17 6

BS Yediyurappa sworn in as CM of Karnataka for 4th time

Karnataka BJP president BS Yediyurappa was sworn in as chief minister of the state for the fourth time, three days after the Congress-JD(S) coalition government collapsed after losing floor test. Read More
0 32 11

Karnataka: Speaker disqualifies 3 rebel MLAs, undecided on other 14

The Karnataka assembly speaker, KR Ramesh Kumar disqualified three rebel MLAs under the anti-defection law till the end of the term of current house. The speaker also ruled that the MLAs will not be able to contest or get elected to the assembly till the end of the term. Read More
0 24 12

Priyanka Gandhi speculated to be next Congress chief

Where the Congress party is still struggling to name their next president after resignation of Rahul Gandhi as party chief, some party leaders are expecting Priyanka Gandhi to take the rein in hand. Read More
0 44 21