Maharashtra: Fadnavis, Ajit Pawar resign, Uddhav to be new CM

The Maharashtra political fiasco, which started with the Shiv Sena walking out of the alliance with the BJP over the post of the CM, ended with Devendra Fadnavis resigning as the CM. This now clears the way for Uddhav Thackeray’s Shiv Sena, Sharad Pawar’s NCP and the Congress to form government. Read More
0 0 0

Guv recommends president’s rule as Maharashtra imbroglio drags

With the NCP-Congress alliance not having the numbers and the Shiv Sena unlikely to support an NCP government without getting the CM’s post, the governor recommended president’s rule in the state. Meanwhile, the Shiv Sena has moved the Supreme Court against the governor’s decision. Read More
0 0 0

Maharashtra: BJP-Shiv Sena alliance gets majority, NCP gains

The Bharatiya Janata Party and Shiv Sena alliance in Maharashtra won a comfortable majority as the counting of the votes for the assembly election came to an end, on Thursday night. In the 288-member assembly, the BJP won 105 seats out of the 152 it contested, while the Shiv Sena won 56 out of the 1 Read More
0 0 0

Sharad Pawar, NCP leader, not to contest Lok Sabha election

Nationalist Congress Party chief Sharad Pawar, after meeting senior party members, in Pune, announced that he would not be contesting the Lok Sabha election from Madha in Maharashtra. He said he was making way for his grandnephew, Parth Pawar, to fight the poll. Read More
3 19 4

Narendra Modi will win again in 2019 Lok Sabha election, Devendra Fadnavis says

Chief minister of Maharashtra, Devendra Fadnavis, said people will vote for Prime Minister Narendra Modi again in the 2019 Lok Sabha election. He said people will vote for Modi because what India could not achieve in 67 years, it achieved under Modi in four years. Read More
0 0 0