Two Goa MLAs break away from Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party, join BJP 

Arunima Bajaj  Wednesday 27th of March 2019 11:13 AM
(24) (8)

Manohar Ajgaonkar (2L) and Deepak Pauskar (2R) with Goa deputy speaker Michael Lobo (L) and Goa CM Pramod Sawant (R).

New Delhi: Two Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party MLAs – Manohar Ajgaonkar and Deepak Pauskar – split from the party and merged their group into the Bharatiya Janata Party, in a midnight development.

The deputy speaker Michael Lobo received the letter requesting merger into the BJP at 1.45am, on March 27. While talking to presspersons, he said, “Two MGP MLAs Manohar Ajgaonkar and Deepak Pauskar have merged with the BJP. They first split from the MGP and formed MGP-II and then merged with the BJP.”

The duo reasoned to quit the party that they were kept away from the decision-making process in the MGP.

The MGP was given only two ministerial berths during last weeks government formation, after the death of the-then chief minister, Manohar Parrikar, although the party demanded three berths.

The BJP now has the support of three MLAs from the Goa Forward party, three Independent legislators and one MGP MLA, which takes the tally to 21 in the 36-member state legislative assembly.




Leave Your Response