Lok Sabha election 2019 results: Narendra Modi’s BJP heading towards massive victory 

Arunima Bajaj  Thursday 23rd of May 2019 04:42 PM
(109) (41)

New Delhi: As soon as counting of votes for the 17th Lok Sabha started, the Bharatiya Janata Party took early leads and continued to gain throughout the day. Stabilized trends at around 4pm indicate that Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s BJP is leading in as many as 301 seats, which is 19 more than it won in the 2014 Lok Sabha election. Along with the BJP, the National Democratic Alliance is expected to touch or even cross 350 seats in the 543-member Lower House of Parliament.

In 2014, Modi’s BJP became the first party since Rajiv Gandhi’s Congress in 1984 to win a full majority on its own, while in 2019, it looks set to become the first party since Congress to return with a majority of its own.

Among the major states, the BJP has got more votes than in 2014 in Gujarat, Haryana, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Delhi, Odisha, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, and West Bengal. In a more than 12 big states, the party has received more than 50 per cent of the vote.

During the morning, the BJP was leading in 17 out of the 42 seats in West Bengal, up from the 2 it won in 2014. The Trinamool Congress was leading in 24, and the Congress in 1 that is Madhya Pradesh. The Left appears to have been wiped out altogether.

In Kerala, the Congress-led UDF is leading in 19 out of 20 seats, which attributed to Congress president Rahul Gandhi contesting from the Wayanad constituency in the state.

Meanwhile, the Left has shrunk further. Its final tally may not go above five at the national level.

Although the mahagathbandhan (grand alliance) in Uttar Pradesh where the SP-BSP-RLD alliance was expected to give a tight fight to the BJP, the saffron party is leading with almost double the count as compared to the alliance.

Down south, according to the latest trends, Jaganmohan Reddy’s YSRCP is sweeping in Andhra Pradesh with the party leading in 23 out of 24 seats. N Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party has been routed and may finish without opening its account. Meanwhile, K Chandrasekhar Rao’s Telangana Rashtriya Samithi is continuing its dominance in Telangana. It was leading in nine seats out of the 17 in the state.

In Tamil Nadu, where voting was held for 38 out of the 39 constituencies, MK Stalin’s Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam is leading in 22 seats. The AIADMK, which won 37 seats when J Jayalalithaa was alive and leading the party, is facing a crashing defeat. Currently, it is leading in only two seats.




Leave Your Response